top of page

April 2018 Challenge Winner

Congratulations to the April 2018 Theme "Explode the Frame" Challenge winner

Sarah Cryer of Sarah Cryer Beadwork. She placed first in both the team and public polls, for her "Eyes on Stalks Brooch" which is currently on sale in her online shop.

INTERVIEW WITH SARAH CRYER:

Eyes on Stalks Brooch

PT: What was the inspiration for your design?

SC: This one was a bit of a grab and bead - I'd been mulling the idea of a collar with eyes on stalks coming out with tentacles for a while, but I had some many other projects on the go that starting something that huge and unusual (and all black!!) never got to the top of the list. When I saw Kris's theme, coupled with the brooch restriction (which made it nice and small) the idea popped back into my head and I decided to use the challenge as a chance to do a bit of a 'test and learn'. I stuck pretty much with my original plan in terms of methodology, but it's been interesting to find that the stalks are much more rigid than I'd expected, probably because of the bezel, so whilst the form is perfect for the brooch, I'd like to work out a way of introducing some bends, twists and a more Medusa like appearance next. PT: Did you employ a different design process for the challenge?

SC: No, I'm pretty much a 'think about it for a week or so then pull the beads and do it' kind of beader. Sometimes that works, sometimes it doesn't. To be fair I've been doing a lot of bezeled cabochons lately as I make my own hand painted ones and I am working up some kits using them, so I was reasonably confident I could manage the combination of bead embroidery, bezelling and tubular peyote I used. Which was lucky..... PT: How has this challenge helped you to grow as a beadwork artist?

SC: I think it reminded me that whilst my more conventional designs, such as my Baroque Tape Measure and Space Needle Case, have done really well as tutorials and kits, it's also really good for me to let go and create real OOAK finished pieces for the shop, without worrying about commercial appeal, or teachability. I don't create as much finished jewellery to sell as I used to, largely because it is harder to get those sales, but the pieces that have sold are always the slightly bonkers ones. Last year I was quite sad to send off my Chihully inspired Nasturtium ring to a lovely customer who immediately commissioned a second one in new colours - that was the first EBW (as we were then) challenge I entered (I was a joint winner too), and these and other competitions always bring out something different, new, or unusual in my work. PT: What words of encouragement can you offer team members who struggle with the process of creating a challenge piece?

SC: Honestly just go for it. Come up with an idea, grab some beads and get stitching. Don't worry if you're doing it right - a glance back at previous collages of entries on the blog will show you what a wonderfully diverse range of imaginations the team have, and how their taste varies from challenge to challenge in terms of where the votes go. I try to pick the challenges that stir up an idea, or play to my strengths, and leave those that don't, as I think it is hard if you try to force something out, and I do try to look ahead and leave myself plenty of time to develop the idea and enjoy the work. That said I originally found the team, joined the team and beaded and entered (and won) my first challenge in under a week, so maybe time pressure helps occasionally!

To see more of Sarah's beautiful work click the links below:

Start the Discussion!

bottom of page